2018 awards – round-up of winners

As I seem to have put together a few posts around awards this year I thought it may be worth have a single post where I consolidate the results for the year. I know I’ll find it useful come December!

The Edgars are the awards of Mystery Writers of America I’ve found that a number of the winners have been books and authors that have been popular on this side to the Atlantic too so although not dedicated to UK crime fiction the winners are worth a look.

Best NovelBluebird, Bluebird by Attica Locke 

Best First Novel by an American Author – She Rides Shotgun by Jordan Harper 

Best Paperback OriginalThe Unseeing by Anna Mazzola – review

Best Fact Crime – Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI by David Grann 

Best Critical / Biographical – Chester B. Himes: A Biography by Lawrence P. Jackson 

The Simon and Schuster Mary Higgins Clark Award – The Widow’s House by Carol Goodman 

Best Short Story – “Spring Break”New Haven Noir by John Crowley 

Best Juvenile – Vanished! By James Ponti 

Best Young AdultLong Way Down by Jason Reynolds 

Robert L Fish Memorial Award – “The Queen of Secrets” – New Haven Noir by Lisa D. Gray (Akashic Books)

Ellery Queen Award – Robert Pépin

The awards presented during Crimefest:

Audible Sounds of Crime Award  –  The Girl Before by J.P. Delaney read by Emilia Fox, Finty Williams & Lise Aagaard Knudsen

eDunnit Award –  The Late Show by Michael Connelly 

H.R.F. Keating Award Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang by Mike Ripley 

Last Laugh Award –  Spook Street by Mick Herron 

Best Crime Novel for Children (aged 8-12) –  A Place Called Perfect by Helena Duggan 

Best Crime Novel for Young Adults (12-16)Indigo Donut by Patrice Lawrence 

The Petrona Award –  Quicksand by Malin Persson Giolito,translated from the Swedish by Rachel Willson-Broyles 

Then we have the awards announcements from Theakston Old Peculier crime writing festival in Harrogate:

Crime Novel of the Year AwardThe Intrusions  by Stav Sherez (Faber & Faber)

Award for an outstanding contribution to crime fictionJohn Grisham

And also announced over the weekend were the winners of the Dead Good Reader Awards:

The Holmes and Watson Award for Best Detective Duo – Ruth Galloway and Harry Nelson, Elly Griffiths

The Whodunnit Award for the Book That Keeps You Guessing – Let Me Lie by Clare Mackintosh 

The Cabot Cove Award for Best Small Town Mystery – The Chalk Man by C J Tudor 

The Wringer Award for the Character Who’s Been Put Through It AllJack Reacher by Lee Child 

The House of Horrors Award for Most Dysfunctional FamilyThen She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell 

The Dead Good Recommends Award for Most Recommended BookThe Dark Angel by Elly Griffiths 

On 1st September the winner of the 2018 Ngaio Marsh Awards were announced as:

Best First NovelAll Our Secrets by Jennifer Lane

Best Crime Novel Marlborough Man by Alan Carter

On 21St September, the first night of Bloody Scotland, the winner of the Bloody Scotland McIlvanney Prize for Scottish Crime Book of the Year was announced as:

The Quaker by Liam McIlvanney

On 27th September the winner of Goldsboro Books Glass Bell Award for Contemporary Fiction 2018 was announced as:

The Heart’s Invisible Furies by John Boyne

The winners of the CWA Daggers were announced on 25th October at a gala dinner:

Gold Dagger (best crime novel)The Liar by Steve Cavanagh

Ian Fleming Steel (best thriller) – Bluebird, Bluebird by Attica Locke

John Creasey (New Blood) Lola by Melissa Scrivner Love

InternationalAfter the Fire by Henning Mankell tr Marlaine Delargy

Gold Dagger for Non-Fiction – Blood on The Page by Thomas Harding

Short StoryNemo Me Impune Lacessit, by Denise Mina from Bloody Scotland

Debut (unpublished writers) – Winner: The Eternal Life of Ezra Ben Simeon by Bill Crotty Highly Commended: Riverine Blood by Joseph James

Historical – Nucleus by Rory Clements

Dagger in the LibraryMartin Edwards

The HWA Crowns were announced in November with three categories of award.

The Sharpe Books HWA Gold Crown for historical fiction – To Die in Spring by Ralf Rothmann, translated by Shaun Whiteside

The Non-fiction Crown – White King: Charles I – Traitor, Martyr, Murderer by Leanda de Lisle

The HWA Debut Crown – Estoril by Dejan Tiago-Stankovic


Do you choose books because they’ve won awards? Are there any on this list that appeal to you?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.