Unnatural History – Jonathan Kellerman


91+9ee4ROWLTitle – Unnatural History

Author – Jonathan Kellerman

Published – 2023

Genre – Crime fiction

I’m not sure that I can really call myself a blogger any longer. It’s not as if I regularly post reviews, I can’t find as much time to read as I used to (especially considering how much time I previously spent on my daily commute). Not surprisingly the number of books I receive to review has dropped off a cliff and I’ve recently been refused NetGalleys – I can’t blame the publishers. But I do have a few review copies / NetGalleys and where I’ve enjoyed the books the publishers and the authors deserve a review.

This is number 38 in the Delaware / Sturgis series – well done if you’ve managed to stick with the series as I have. Oddly the attraction of the books in the first instance wasn’t the premise but the fact that standing in a bookshop trying to pick a book to buy, the early Kellermans were always pretty hefty – meaning that they were going to last me a decent length of time. And then I was hooked.

The reasons for Sturgis including Delaware in an investigation have become more tenuous – in this case a young woman having a panic attack following the discovery of a body. After that initial hurdle has been cleared Delaware is drawn into the investigation, one that concerns a photographer and, potentially, his recent project of photographing local homeless people. The reference to the homeless does allow for a bit of social commentary, not unusual in crime fiction.

You know what you’re getting. LA-based, regular meal stops, a series of investigative developments that may often be red herrings, a guitar-building partner and a French bulldog. All good here! I did notice that Rick – Sturgis’s partner – seemed to be missing from the book. Odd in written fiction – it’s not as if the character has gone off for a role in another book.

The plot might be a bit slow to reveal and the resolution a bit implausible but if you’re a fan of Kellerman’s books you won’t be disappointed with number 38 in the series.

Thank you to the publisher for the review copy.

1star1star1star1star

3 comments

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed this one, Virginia. I honestly can’t say I’ve read all 38 of the books, but I do like the series, and I like both Sturgis’ character and Delaware’s.

  2. Oh, my goodness!! I am so sorry for using the wrong name, Sue! Please forgive me *So embarrassed!* I was reading a blog kept by someone else and I mucked up the names. Sorry!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.