Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award – shortlist 2018

Hot on the heels of last week’s CWA Dagger longlists, the shortlist for the Theakston’s crime novel of the year has been published. The 2018 Crime Novel of the Year Award is run in partnership with T&R Theakston Ltd, The Mail on Sunday and WH Smith. The prize was created to celebrate the very best in crime fiction and is open to UK and Irish crime authors whose novels were published in paperback from 1 May 2017 to 30 April 2018.

The longlist of eighteen books has now been reduced to a shortlist of six titles:

Mick Herron for Spook Street
Denise Mina for The Long Drop
Abir Mukherjee for A Rising Man
Stav Sherez for The Intrusions
Susie Steiner for Persons Unknown
Val McDermid for Insidious Intent

The overall winner will be decided by the panel of Judges, alongside a public vote. The public vote opens on 1 July and closes 14 July at The prize will be awarded on the opening night of the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate. (You can now find out who won here.)

I’ve only read the one title so far and it was a book that I didn’t particularly enjoy. Have you read more? Which would be your tip for the prize?


  1. Some fine choices there. I liked A Rising Man very much, and I think that’d be a worthy winner. But that’s just my view…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.